Back to Club Events home page

The club championships – 5km and 10km races – are held in late November or early December and are for members only. All members are encouraged to enter and challenge themselves. As with all of the races the Club organises, this event can only take place with the very generous assistance of volunteers for marshalling, registrations, timing, etc. we usually need about 20 helpers to put the race on. This help is invaluable and so to thank member volunteers at this or other club events they are given priority in the ballot for London Marathon places that have been allocated to the Club. If you, or family members or friends, can volunteer to help please contact Events. The races are free of charge.

Location: Wimbledon Windmill, Windmill Road, Merton, London, SW19 5NR

Instructions: Start to gather from 0930 near the Windmill. You will need to tell us which race you want to run.

Start times: The 10km starts at 10am, the 5km approx 5 minutes later

After the race enjoy teas, coffees and cakes with the club at the Windmill Tea Rooms.

Club Championships route 2019

Recent winners

10 km MenNameTimePace (min/mi)
2023Nick McKay37:0305:57
2022Richard Cohen37:1605:59
2021Harald Thorstein35:0405:38
2019James Hughes37:2106:04
2018Nick McKay39:0406:17
2017(ex member)
2016Keith MacIntosh34:2305:32
2015(ex member)
2014Matt Gallagher36:0705:48
5 km MenNameTimePace (min/mi)
2023David Sharman18:3505:58
2022Jaro Prokop23:3307:34
2021James Hughes18:1505:52
2019David Sharman18:0305:48
2018David Sharman18:5506:05
2017Neil Guthrie18:2105:54
2016Neil Guthrie18:4906:03
2015Sandy Pfeifer18:5706:05
2014Simon Olney19:5506:24
10 km WomenNameTimePace (min/mi)
2023Hannah Carr46:4807:31
2022Hannah Carr44:0007:04
2021Julia Donovan42:5806:54
2019Ella Waddingham44:3507:10
2018Julia Donovan42:0206:45
2017Kate Carter43:0006:55
2016Julie Burgess45:0807:15
2015Julia Donovan41:5606:44
2014Julia Donovan42:2306:49
5 km WomenNameTimePace (min/mi)
2023Charlene Wong Min27:3908:53
2022Kate Carter21:4607:00
2021Matilde Lomba19:5406:24
2019Hannah Carr22:0307:05
2018Sophie McKay21:5907:04
2017Amelia Ashton-Jones23:3907:36
2016Kate Carter20:4006:39
2015Chloe Bedford25:0208:03
2014Kate Carter20:4006:39
Julia and Kate in full race effort